Env. Ministry identifies new sensitive ecological zones

Four new sensitive ecosystems have been identified in the country and they have been designated as Sensitive Ecological Zones, the Environment Ministry said.

Those sensitive ecosystems were identified following a programme initiated by the Biodiversity unit of the Ministry to identify sensitive ecological zones and named them as sensitive ecological zones.

Ministry Secretary Dr. Anil Jasinghe said the purpose of this programme was to facilitate the planning of development projects by preventing damage to the environment during the implementation of local development projects.

Accordingly, these new sensitive ecosystems have been identified in the Manewa, Gangewadiya, Eluwankulama and Galnewa areas.

However, action will be taken to conserve those sensitive ecological zones and no individual or institution will be allowed by law to destroy them. They are protected under the National Environmental Act and their safety is guaranteed.

Therefore, the Biodiversity Unit has prepared a programme to identify such sensitive ecosystems and implement a plan to conserve them throughout the island, Dr. Jasinghe added.


Leave a Reply

#Tags; gossip la, gossip lanka, lanka gossip, gossip hiru, hiru gossip, gossip lanka news, lanka gossip news, gossip, gossip lanka hot news, gossip lankahotnews, gossip c lanka, gossip lanka c, hiru gossip lanka, gossip c, gossip lanka c news