PAFFREL recommends a mixed electoral system of First-Past-the-Post and Proportional Representation

PAFFREL recommends a mixed electoral system of First-Past-the-Post and Proportional Representation

Fri, Jul 16, 2021, 08:08 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

July 16, Colombo: Sri Lanka election monitor, People’s Action For Free and Fair Elections (PAFFREL) told the Parliamentary Select Committee (PSC) on Electoral Law Reforms, that it is appropriate for Sri Lanka to have a mixed electoral system that includes First-Past-the-Post (FPTP) system and Proportional Representation (PR).

At the meeting of the PSC chaired by the Leader of the House Minister Dinesh Gunawardena on Wednesday, the Executive Director of PAFFREL Rohana Hettiarachchi proposed to increase the number of electoral districts from 22 to 40, taking into account geographical factors, population and other diversities.

Explaining the need for an advanced voting system, PAFFREL stated to the Committee it is essential that every voter be given the right to vote.

PAFFREL also addressed the Committee on limiting candidate expenses, holding Presidential and General Elections on the same day, implementing an election calendar, identifying and updating loopholes in the electoral process and existing electoral law, preventing misappropriation of state power and state property, updating fines and election law, ensuring the right to information of all voters, the laws on advertising and ensuring adequate women representation.

The Executive Director of PAFFREL also spoke at length on the declaration of assets and liabilities of candidates as well as the selection of candidates from the National List, the protection of the independence of the Election Commission and the methodology of registration of political parties.

However, the former Chairman of the Election Commission Mahinda Deshapriya said that it was not practical to hold the Presidential and General Elections on the same day.

Mr. Mahinda Deshapriya also pointed out that legislation should be enacted soon to control election campaign expenditure.

PAFFREL Executive Director Rohana Hettiarachchi was accompanied by Board Members Dr. Jehan Perera, Cristobal Savarimuttu, KN Dean, Administrative Officer Indika Jeewandara and Senior Program Officer Upekshi Priyankaru.

Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva, State Minister Jeevan Thondaman, Members of Parliament Anura Dissanayake, Kabir Hashim, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, M.A. Sumanthiran, Mano Ganesan Madura Vithanage and Sagara Kariyawasam were also present. In addition, officials from the Election Commission and the Attorney General’s Department were also present.

Leave a Reply

#Tags; gossip la, gossip lanka, lanka gossip, gossip hiru, hiru gossip, gossip lanka news, lanka gossip news, gossip, gossip lanka hot news, gossip lankahotnews, gossip c lanka, gossip lanka c, hiru gossip lanka, gossip c, gossip lanka c news